navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square googleplus history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share share2 sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Saudi-Led Islamic Military Coalition Formed to FIght Terrorism

December 14, 2015 (Photo Credit: Fayez Nureldine/AFP via Getty Images)

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates — The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has announced the formation of a 35-state Islamic military coalition to combat terrorism.

The statements came after a cabinet meeting was held in the Saudi capital Riyadh, according to the Saudi Press Agency

The Islamic military coalition's headquarters will be in Riyadh, according to the statement, where a Joint Operations Center will be set up and military engagements will be coordinated.

Speaking at a press conference in Riyadh Saudi Deputy Crown Prince and Minister of Defense, Prince Mohammed Bin Salman said that the coalition will "target all terrorist organisations in the Islamic world".

"Every country will be participating according to its capabilities and we will not only fight Daesh, but any terrorist group," Salman said in his televised press conference.

Countries that have signed up to join the coalition are:

  • the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Jordan
  • the United Arab Emirates, Pakistan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Turkey
  • Chad
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Djibouti
  • Senegal
  • Sudan
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Gabon
  • Guinea
  • the Comoros Islands
  • Qatar
  • Ivory Coast
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • the Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malaysia
  • Egypt
  • Morocco
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Uganda
  • Yemen
  • Palestine


Next Article